Categories

Categories

Open the chatbot if user is about to leave

Open the chatbot if user is about to leave

Select the chatbot. Go to Settings. Open Behaviour. Here, you will find the option to open the widget on user leave. Tick this option.

How it Works

When the user moves away from the webpage, for example, to a new tab or a new page, then the bot can detect this change and trigger the bot to open. It will start the conversation and hopefully keep the user on that page.

If the user closes the chatbot by pressing the 'X' button, then we set a cookie to prevent the chatbot from opening for the same person. In other words, the auto-open settings will work only for the first time for a new user. It doesn't work the second time. This is to make the bot less intrusive.

If you are testing to see if the bot does open after x seconds, then we recommend you to test it in the incognito mode of your browser or a different browser from your current one.

Tip

Don't forget to publish your changes before testing.



Still need help?

Contact us